The Kindle review begins

Ah, the Kindle review. Finally.

It has taken awhile, but I wanted to accomplish some things and experiment with some options before I posted.

–       I wanted to complete reading a book. (a good goal, with a Kindle, I know) But, I tend to be a book starter and not a finisher, so I wanted to break that habit with the Kindle. That has been semi- successful.

–       There are different things to read on a Kindle (book, newspaper, blog, magazine, documents) and I wanted to get my hands dirty with all of them

–       There are some added options (internet, mp3 player) I wanted to break in also, so that I did not judge them too quickly.

The device as a whole is a lovely. Yes, I said lovely. Now, I can affirm the statement by the fact I have been lusting over a Kindle since they were released around two years ago. So, for it to impress when I opened it and throughout the first  couple of months is impressive. It was like that movie you have over hyped yourself to see by its greatness and after seeing it you are so glad it lived up to its billing.

Cosmetics

The Kindle is light. It is easy to hold and the buttons are perfectly placed for page turning. The power button is easy to use on the top and the Kindle shuts down after a few minutes of being idle. That is not a pain. It boots back up quickly. There is headphone jack on top for mp3’s and text to speech listening of a book. On the right side are the volume buttons.

On the front is a mini joystick that guides all your movement on the Kindle. It moves in all four directions and clicks down when you are selecting.  This scroll/button works fine, although the cursor moves much too slow for my pace. Not a deal breaker, but slow. Also, on the front is a qwerty keyboard for typing in book searches among other things. It is non-obtrusive and easy to use.

There is a USB/Power input on the bottom. You can charge it by plugging it into the wall or pull off the plug and use a USB port on a computer to charge it. You can also use your computer to manage the contents of the Kindle. We will cover that later. As a whole, the unit is pretty to look at and hold.  There is still a part of me that thinks it could shatter if dropped or the screen could easily scratch or get spilled on and be cooked. But, no spills or drops so far. And the screen seems to be fine, since I now have a case and it is not exposed.

The battery power seems to hold up just fine. Word is to keep it charged between 25%-75% and it will do just fine. It does not come with a case so I agonized over that choice. No, really, I agonized. Finally settled on this one because I like its style. I like that it folds all the way back like a book and it has a light you can buy that fits right in. Bought the light too and I am happy with those choices.

Options

You have the ability to change the size of the font to six different sizes. This has come in especially handy at bedtime when I want to read without my glasses. I just blow up the font size. You can choose how narrow you want the text to look on a page by choosing how many words per line there are. Text to speech allows you to hear the book read to you. You can choose the pace of the voice and if you want male or female. So far, I have found this relativity useless. Because I would only use this if it was like an audio book and the author or a compelling narrator were reading it to me. This is one of those electronic robot voices that is sounding out the words. You should hear it try to figure out Bible verse formatting. Lots of numbers being read, that’s for sure. And finally you can change the screen rotation for any side. Either landscape direction or either portrait. I found the landscape view helpful when a table was too wide to fit on the portrait view.

The reading experience. You  have to be a book lover to read this. And your first question will probably be, is it the same? Do you miss holding, writing in, and highlighting in a book? Well, so far it’s fine.

Now, I am an old school music lover and CD, tape, and record collector that has converted to 90% downloaded music. That fact alone has made this transition much easier and much less hard to do.

Let’s face it, for me; a collection has to do with ego. The sweeter the book looks, the more I have on the shelf, the excitement of ordering or receiving new ones, etc. That’s all good, but the only thing that is missing with a Kindle is you seeing my collection when you walk into my office. Really the whole holding the book, thing has worn off since I got the Kindle. And there is good reason for that for you who can’t imagine that. What is that reason? I’ll post that tomorrow.

One thought on “The Kindle review begins

  1. I will have to find out how the holding the book thing wears off.

    I think that I would like a Kindle but I would still want the books that I can hold and scribble in.

    I think the biggest attraction for a Kindle (at least for me) would be the number of books that I could carry with me… especially my favorites.

Leave a Reply

